Market Snapshot: Fuel poverty across Canada – lower energy efficiency in lower income households

Release date: 2017-08-30

In 2015, Canadian households spent an average of nearly 3% of their total income on electricity, natural gas and heating oil. A household may be described as experiencing fuel poverty when it spends more than 10% of its income on utilities. By this measure, an estimated 8% of Canadian households experience fuel poverty.

Not including the northern territoriesFootnote 1, which face unique energy challenges, households in the Atlantic provinces and Saskatchewan experience the most fuel poverty in Canada. Households in these provinces spent over $500 more on utilities per year than the Canadian average of $2 105 in 2015, and experienced fuel poverty rates of 13% (Atlantic provinces) and 10% (Saskatchewan).

Household fuel poverty rates in Canadian provinces in 2015

Source and Description

Source: Statistics Canada

Description: This map shows Canadian fuel poverty rates across provinces as of 2015, with the 4 Atlantic provinces aggregated into a single rate. The Atlantic provinces and Saskatchewan were the highest at 13% and 10%, respectively. The remaining provinces had the following rates: Ontario (7%), Manitoba (7%), British Columbia (7%), Alberta (6%), and Quebec (7%). The overall fuel poverty rate for Canada was 8%. This figure does not include the northern territories, which face unique energy challenges.

Household income levels are a primary determinant of fuel poverty. Lower income households are generally the most affected and usually spend a larger percentage of their income on utilities. Additionally, higher income households can more easily invest in improving their home’s energy efficiency, and residential electricity and natural gas intensityFootnote 2 tends to decrease in higher income households. To address fuel poverty, provincial and federal governments have introduced energy efficiency rebates targeted at both rental owners and low income households.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Précarité thermique au Canada – efficacité énergétique moindre dans les ménages à plus faible revenu

Date de diffusion : 2017-08-30

En 2015, les ménages canadiens ont consacré en moyenne un peu moins de 3 % du total de leurs revenus au paiement de factures d’électricité, de gaz naturel et d’huile de chauffage. On peut dire qu’un ménage est en situation de précarité thermique [anglais seulement] lorsque les services publics grugent plus de 10 % de ses revenus. Dans cette optique, on estime qu’au Canada, 8 % des ménages se retrouvent dans une telle situation.

Exception faite des territoires nordiquesFootnote 1 , lesquels sont confrontés à des enjeux énergétiques particuliers, c’est dans les provinces de l’Atlantique et en Saskatchewan qu’on retrouve la plus grande précarité thermique au Canada. La moyenne canadienne de 2 105 $ pour les services publics en 2015 y a été dépassée de plus de 500 $ sur l’année, menant à des taux de précarité thermique des ménages respectivement de 13 % et 10 %.

Taux de précarité thermique des ménages selon les provinces au Canada en 2015

Source et description

Source : Statistique Canada

Description : Cette carte illustre les taux de précarité thermique en 2015 dans les provinces canadiennes, les quatre de l’Atlantique ayant été regroupées pour l’occasion. C’est justement dans ces provinces et en Saskatchewan que les taux en question sont les plus élevés, atteignant respectivement 13 % et 10 %. Ailleurs au pays, les taux sont les suivants : Québec (7 %), Ontario (7 %), Manitoba (7 %), Alberta (6 %) et Colombie-Britannique (7 %). Le taux global de précarité thermique au Canada est de 8 %. Ce pourcentage ne tient pas compte des territoires nordiques, confrontés à des enjeux énergétiques particuliers.

Les revenus des ménages constituent l’un des principaux facteurs déterminants de la précarité thermique. Ce sont généralement les ménages dont les revenus sont les plus bas qui destinent un plus large pourcentage de ceux-ci aux services publics. En outre, les ménages à l’autre extrémité du spectre sont mieux en mesure d’investir afin d’améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de leur demeure et la tendance observable est que l’intensité énergétiqueFootnote 2 diminue avec l’augmentation des revenus. Pour contrer la précarité thermique, les gouvernements, provinciaux et fédéral, offrent des rabais liés à l’efficacité énergétique ciblant à la fois les locataires et les ménages à faibles revenus.

Date de modification :