Market Snapshot: Wind turbines in Canada have increased in both size and generation capacity

Connect/Contact Us

Energy Information RSS Feed

Please send comments, questions, or suggestions for Market Snapshot topics to snapshots@cer-rec.gc.ca

Release Date: 2019-11-06

Wind power is the fastest growing non-hydro renewable energy technology in Canada. Over the past 10 years, installed wind capacity in Canada has grown more than six times. In 2018, Canada had over 13 000 MW of total installed wind capacity, compared to 2 300 MW in 2008.Footnote 1

The rise in wind capacity is supported by many factors such as lower costs, improved technology, and federal and provincial government policies. In particular, modern wind turbines are getting larger. In 2018, wind turbines installed in Canada had a nameplate capacity averaging 3.3 MW and rotor diameters averaging 114 metres, which is longer than the length of a Canadian Football League field. Wind turbines from the 1990s had an average capacity of 0.15 MW and rotor diameters of 23 metres; the length of a standard tennis court.

The amount of electricity that can be generated from wind depends on wind speed, air density, and swept area of the rotor. As the rotor diameter increases, so does the amount of area covered and the capacity to generate wind energy.Footnote 2

Figure 1. Wind turbine rotor diameters over time, 2006 – 2018, 1999 – 2004 and 1993

Source and Description

Source: CanWEA and various project websitesFootnote 3

Description: This grouped bar graph shows wind turbine rotor diameters over time, time periods shown are 2006 – 2018, 1999 – 2004 and 1993. For each time period, the smallest and largest turbine rotor diameters are represented by the first and second bars, respectively. Average rotor diameter for each time period is represented by the red circles.

Figure 2. Diagram of a wind turbine

wind turbine
Source and Description

Source: Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Description: The above figure shows the different components of a wind turbine. Including hub height, rotor diameter and the swept area of the blades.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Augmentation de la taille et de la capacité de production des éoliennes au Canada

Contactez nous

Fil RSS – Information sur l’énergie

Commentaires, questions ou suggestions portant sur les aperçus du marché peuvent être envoyés à l’adresse apercus@cer-rec.gc.ca.

Date de diffusion : 2019-11-06

L’énergie éolienne est la technologie d’énergie renouvelable non hydraulique qui croît le plus rapidement au Canada. Au cours des 10 dernières années, la capacité éolienne installée au Canada a plus que sextuplé. En 2018, le Canada avait une capacité éolienne installée totale de plus de 13 000 MW, comparativement à 2 300 MW en 2008.Note de bas de page 1

L’augmentation de la capacité éolienne est due à de nombreux facteurs, tels que les coûts moins élevés, la technologie améliorée et les politiques gouvernementales fédérales et provinciales. En outre, les éoliennes modernes sont plus grandes. En 2018, les éoliennes installées au Canada avaient une puissance installée moyenne de 3,3 MW. Le diamètre du rotor mesurait en moyenne 114 mètres, soit plus que la longueur d’un terrain de la Ligue canadienne de football. Les éoliennes des années 1990 avaient une capacité moyenne de 0,15 MW. Le diamètre du rotor mesurait 23 mètres, ce qui équivaut à la longueur d’un terrain de tennis standard.

La quantité d’électricité produite dépend de la vitesse du vent, de la masse volumique de l’air et de la surface balayée par le rotor [anglais seulement]. Plus le diamètre du rotor est grand, plus la surface balayée et la capacité de production d’énergie éolienne augmentent.Note de bas de page 2

Figure 1. Diamètre du rotor d’une éolienne en 2006-2018, 1999-2004 et 1993

Source et description

Source : CanWEA et différents sites Web de projetsNote de bas de page 3

Description : Ce graphique à barres groupées montre les différents diamètres de rotor d’éolienne pour les périodes 2006-2018, 1999-2004 et 1993. Pour chaque période, le plus petit diamètre de rotor et le plus grand sont représentés par la première et la seconde barre, respectivement. Le diamètre de rotor moyen pour chaque période est représenté par les pastilles rouges.

Figure 2. Diagramme d’éolienne

Diagramme d’éolienne
Source et description

Source : Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario

Description : La figure ci-dessus montre les différentes composantes d’une éolienne, notamment la hauteur du moyeu, le diamètre du rotor et la surface balayée par les pales.

 

Date de modification :