Information for Proposed Pipeline or Power Line Projects that Do Not Involve a Hearing

Information for Proposed Pipeline or Power Line Projects that Do Not Involve a Hearing [PDF 2101 KB]

Revised September 2016

The Role of the National Energy Board

Pipeline Construction SiteThe National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is an independent federal regulator established to promote safety and security, environmental protection, and economic efficiency in the Canadian public interest. We regulate pipelines, international power lines, energy development and trade. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources.

Before a company can develop a pipeline or power line that crosses provincial or international borders, it must apply to the Board and receive its approval. The Board examines whether the project is in the public interest, and then decides whether it should be approved.

The Company’s Consultation Activities

NEB Inspector on SiteThe NEB expects consultation activities will be considered for all proposed projects. Company consultation activities must be accessible, inclusive and responsive, and provide clear, relevant and timely information. The Board expects that companies consider how they will ensure respect for both of Canada’s official languages and how project information will be provided and communicated to potentially affected persons or groups in the official language of their choice to ensure their effective and meaningful participation in the Board process. Companies are required to begin consultation activities early in the planning of a proposed project and should include all individuals, organizations and Aboriginal groups that may be affected by the project. If the project is approved, company consultation must continue throughout construction, operation and abandonment phases. The Board expects the company to respond to any issues or complaints it might receive through the life of a project. At any time, the public and Aboriginal groups may contact the NEB to raise concerns.

Participation in the NEB’s Process

The NEB requires companies to inform those potentially affected by a project of when they plan to submit their project application to the Board. Anyone who has concerns about a proposed project should contact the company first to have those concerns considered. If you still have project-related views or concerns after the project application has been submitted, you are encouraged to send a letter of comment to the NEB as soon as possible and preferably within 14 days after the application has been filed. The Board will consider your letter of comment during its assessment of the project.  It is your responsibility to bring your concerns or views about the project forward to the Board for consideration. Please note the Board will continue to assess the application, including the company’s consultation activities as referred to above, even if you have not submitted any comments to the Board.

How to File your Letter of Comment

For projects that do not involve a hearing, you may send a letter of comment directly to the Board and it should include:

  • your name, mailing address, and phone number;
  • the name of your organization, if you represent one;
  • the proposed project name;
  • comments on why you are interested in the project and how you will be impacted positively or negatively by the project, or what relevant or expert information you can provide; and
  • any information that explains or supports your comments.

You may file your letter of comment to the Board in one of three ways:

  1. Submit it electronically through the Board’s website at www.neb-one.gc.ca under Submit Documents.
  2. Send a Fax to:
    Secretary of the National Energy Board
    Fax: 403-292-5503 or
    (toll free fax): 1-877-288-8803
  3. Mail a copy of your letter of comment to:
    Secretary of the Board
    National Energy Board
    Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
    Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8

You must also send a copy of your letter to the company.

Use this Pamphlet for

This pamphlet outlines general information and the review process for facilities applications that do not involve a hearing, such as pipelines that are less than 40 kilometers long, deactivations, reactivations, construction of meter stations, and other small-scale projects.

For Further Information

The Board’s website has a series of videos which provide some useful information about the Board and its processes. The NEB publication National Energy Board - Landowner Guide may help you to understand the regulatory processes administered by the Board, and the rights of landowners. For information on the hearing process, see the publication titled National Energy Board Hearing Process Handbook.

For copies of any NEB publication or for more information, contact us:

  • Online: www.neb-one.gc.ca
  • Email: info@neb-one.gc.ca
  • Toll free: 1-800-899-1265
  • Write us or visit our library at:
    National Energy Board
    Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
    Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Date modified:

Renseignements utiles à l’égard de projets de pipeline ou de ligne de transport d’électricité qui ne nécessitent pas d’audience

Renseignements utiles à l’égard de projets de pipeline ou de ligne de transport d’électricité qui ne nécessitent pas d’audience [PDF 2125 ko]

Révision : septembre 2016

Rôle de l’Office national de l’énergie

Chantier de construction de pipelineL’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant mis sur pied pour promouvoir la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience économique, dans l’intérêt public canadien. L’Office réglemente les pipelines, les lignes internationales de transport d’électricité, de même que la mise en valeur et le commerce de l’énergie. Il rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre des Ressources naturelles.

Avant de pouvoir construire un pipeline ou une ligne de transport d’électricité qui traverse les limites provinciales ou les frontières internationales, les sociétés doivent présenter une demande à l’Office et obtenir son approbation. L’Office examine le projet pour déterminer s’il est dans l’intérêt public, puis il décide de l’approuver ou non.

Programme de consultation de la société

Inspecteur de l'ONÉ sur siteL’Office s’attend à ce que des activités de consultation soient envisagées pour tous les projets proposés. Les activités de consultation de la société doivent être accessibles, ouvertes à tous et adaptées, et fournir des renseignements clairs, pertinents et opportuns. Les sociétés sont tenues de commencer les activités de consultation tôt dans la planification d’un projet proposé et devraient inclure toutes les personnes, toutes les organisations et tous les groupes autochtones susceptibles d’être touchés par le projet. Si le projet est approuvé, la consultation de la société doit se poursuivre tout au long des étapes de construction, d’exploitation et de cessation d’exploitation. L’Office s’attend à ce que la société donne suite aux problèmes ou plaintes pouvant survenir pendant la durée du projet. Le public et les groupes autochtones peuvent communiquer n’importe quand avec l’Office pour lui faire part de leurs préoccupations.

Participation au processus de l’Office

L’Office exige que les sociétés informent ceux qu’un projet pourrait toucher du moment où elles prévoient lui présenter leur demande de projet. Toute personne ayant des préoccupations au sujet d’un projet proposé devrait en faire part d’abord à la société pour que celles-ci soient prises en compte. Si vous avez toujours des préoccupations relatives au projet après la présentation de la demande de projet, vous êtes priés d’envoyer dès que possible à l’Office une lettre de commentaires expliquant votre point de vue (de préférence dans les 14 jours suivant le dépôt de la demande). L’Office tiendra compte de votre lettre de commentaires au cours de son évaluation du projet. Il vous incombe de faire part de vos préoccupations ou de votre point de vue sur le projet à l’Office pour qu’ils soient pris en compte. Veuillez prendre note que l’Office continuera d’évaluer la demande, y compris les activités de consultation de la société dont il est question ci-dessus, même si vous n’avez pas fait part de commentaires à l’Office.

Comment déposer une lettre de commentaires

Pour les projets qui ne nécessitent pas d’audience, vous pouvez envoyer une lettre de commentaires directement à l’Office, laquelle doit comprendre ce qui suit :

  • votre nom, votre adresse et votre numéro de téléphone;
  • le nom de l’organisation que vous représentez, le cas échéant;
  • le nom du projet;
  • les raisons pour lesquelles vous vous intéressez au projet ainsi que les répercussions favorables ou défavorables de ce dernier sur vous, ou encore l’expertise ou l’information pertinente que vous pouvez fournir;
  • tout renseignement pouvant expliquer ou étayer vos commentaires.

Vous pouvez déposer votre lettre de commentaires auprès de l’Office de l’une ou l’autre des trois façons suivantes :

  1. par voie électronique à partir du site Web de l’Office au www.one-neb.gc.ca, sous Soumettre des documents
  2. par télécopie :
    Secrétaire de l’Office
    Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
    ou sans frais au 1-877-288-8803
  3. par la poste :
    Secrétaire de l’Office
    Office national de l’énergie
    517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
    Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8

Vous devez aussi faire parvenir une copie de votre lettre à la société.

Information contenue dans le présent document

Le présent document renferme des renseignements généraux et décrit le processus d’examen applicable aux demandes visant des installations n’exigeant pas d’audience, notamment les pipelines d’une longueur inférieure à 40 km, les désactivations, les réactivations, la construction de stations de comptage et d’autres petits projets.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Le site Web de l’Office comprend une série de vidéos qui fournissent des renseignements utiles au sujet de l’Office et de ses processus. La publication L’Office national de l’énergie - Guide du propriétaire foncier de l’Office peut vous aider à comprendre les processus réglementaires qu’il administre et les droits des propriétaires fonciers. Pour obtenir de l’information sur le processus d’audience, consultez la publication Guide sur le processus d’audience de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Pour obtenir des exemplaires des publications de l’Office ou de plus amples renseignements, utilisez les coordonnées suivantes :

  • En ligne : www.one-neb.gc.ca
  • Courriel : info@neb-one.gc.ca
  • Numéro sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
  • Bibliothèque (par la poste ou en personne) :
    Office national de l’énergie
    517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
    Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
Date de modification :